Home » 2020 TÜBİTAK Awards Go to Bilkent Faculty

2020 TÜBİTAK Awards Go to Bilkent Faculty

Three Bilkent University faculty members have been recognized by the Scientific and Technical Research Council of Turkey (TÜBİTAK).

Prof. Hilmi Volkan Demir, director of the National Nanotechnology Research Center (UNAM), a member of the Departments of Electrical and Electronics Engineering and Physics, and chair of the graduate program in Materials Science and Nanotechnology, was presented with a TÜBİTAK Science Award, while Asst. Prof. Bilge Baytekin and Asst. Prof. Ferdi Karadaş of the Department of Chemistry and UNAM received TÜBİTAK Incentive Awards for 2020.

TÜBİTAK gives awards every year to encourage researchers who have made significant contributions to science at an international level. This year, the TÜBİTAK Executive Board decided on the basis of its evaluative process to present four science awards, one special award and 13 incentive awards.

Prof. Demir received his award for his work in the fields of semiconductor optoelectronics and nanophotonics, in particular on the physics, optical properties and applications of quantum-confined colloidal structures for LEDs in lighting and display technologies, and for his contributions to nanocrystal-based color conversion, display-backlighting color enrichment, energy transfer and optical gain in semiconductor nanocrystals. Dr. Baytekin’s award was presented for her work on the molecular mechanism of static electricity and prevention of accumulation of electrostatic charges on insulators. Dr. Karadas’s award, in the field of inorganic chemistry, recognized his contributions to the development of active catalysts for water oxidation.


Hilmi Volkan Demir
Bilge Baytekin
Ferdi Karadaş