Home » German Physical Society Award

German Physical Society Award

Dr. Baykara has been selected as one of the top five finalists for the 2017 Gerhard Ertl Young Investigator Award of the German Physical Society (Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft, DPG).

This early-career award, which Asst. Prof. Mehmet Z. Baykara of the Department of Mechanical Engineering and the National Nanotechnology Research Center has been selected as a finalist, recognizes a young researcher for outstanding research in surface science.

The award is named after Gerhard Ertl, who received the 2007 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his contributions to the field of surface science. The winner of the award will be determined at a special session to be held during the DPG’s 2017 spring meeting, where the finalists will deliver oral presentations about their latest research accomplishments.