Home » Bilkent Faculty Receive 2020 BAGEP Awards

Bilkent Faculty Receive 2020 BAGEP Awards

Seven Bilkent faculty members have received Distinguished Young Scientist (BAGEP) awards for 2020. The awards are given by the Science Academy Association (Bilim Akademisi Derneği), established in 2011 “to promote, practice and uphold the principles of scientific merit, freedom and integrity.” The objective of the BAGEP program is to recognize highly promising young scientists and assist them in furthering their investigations.

The Bilkent awardees are: Asst. Prof. Ercüment Çiçek (Department of Computer Engineering), Asst. Prof. Onur Çizmecioğlu (Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics), Asst. Prof. Berk Esen (Department of International Relations), Asst. Prof. Nazım Keven (Department of Philosophy), Asst. Prof. Banu Demir Pakel (Department of Economics), Asst. Prof. Burak Ülgüt (Department of Chemistry) and Asst. Prof. Kemal Yıldız (Department of Economics).

A ceremony to honor the award was postponed to a later date due to the Covid-19 outbreak.


Ercüment Çiçek
Computer Engineering







Onur Çizmecioğlu







Berk Esen
Political Sicence and International Relations







Nazım Keven






Banu Demir Pakel








Burak Ülgüt







Kemal Yıldız